Posted by: Nikki | August 13, 2008

First Day of School

After four full days of meetings and classroom preparation, we finally got to what it was all about: the student’s first day.  You never really know what to expect that first day with 3 and 4 year-olds, but there are a few things that I’ve learned are common.  I always expect crying (kids and parents) and separation difficulties as well as chaos with buses and arrival/departure, with everyone trying to find the right place.  I have a classroom full of newbies this year, which means I expect these things to multiply!  So, did my expectations hold true?  Not a bit.  Not a tear, not a cry, not a fuss.  I have the most perfect, happy class of students.  They actually ALL sat at circle and participated!  They shared toys and were super sweet to one another.  I know that my little perfect bubble may burst when I start placing more and more demands on these kiddos, but what a way to start the year!  No matter what else happens, this class takes the prize for best first day ever.  I am so excited about this group of young children.  I can’t wait to see how we all progress throughout this school year.  It will be a fun and exciting journey. =)


Responses

  1. What a wonderful first day! I hope this is a foreshadowing of a great group and a nice year ahead. Good luck!

  2. Someone on the diagnostic team must LOVE you! 🙂 Congratulations!


Leave a comment

Categories